About us

The society which is based in Wellington, New Zealand is associated with The National Library of New Zealand . It was formed in 1983 to support the work of the Dorothy Neal White Collection.
In 2005 it was extended to support the National Children’s and Susan Price Collections.
How to view the collections supported by Friends of DNW
Through its lectures, meetings, research grant and publications the Society helps to foster interest in the general development of children’s literature.
Membership is by annual subscription, the details are on the membership page.
Address: Friends of the Dorothy Neal White Collection
P. 0. Box 12 499

Susan Price ONZM

Congratulations to Susan Price for receiving an ONZM in the New Years Honours List 2020 for services to literature and philanthropy. Well deserved ❤️

In the DNW Display Case

2019 NZ Children’s and Young Adult Book Awards winners announced

The full list of winners is:

Margaret Mahy Book of the Year Award
The Bomb, Sacha Cotter, illustrated by Josh Morgan (Huia Publishers)

Picture Book Award
The Bomb

Wright Family Foundation Esther Glen Award for Junior Fiction
The Dog Runner, Bren MacDibble (Allen & Unwin)

Young Adult Fiction Award
Legacy, Whiti Hereaka (Huia Publishers)

Elsie Locke Award for Non-Fiction
Art-tastic, Sarah Pepperle (Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū)

Russell Clark Award for Illustration
Puffin the Architect, written and illustrated by Kimberly Andrews (Penguin Random House)

Wright Family Foundation Te Kura Pounamu Award for te reo Māori
Te Haka a Tānerore, Reina Kahukiwa, illustrated by Robyn Kahukiwa, translated by Kiwa Hammond (Mauri Tū)

Best First Book Award
Art-tastic, Sarah Pepperle (Christchurch Art Gallery Te Puna o Waiwhetū)

Research Grant

A research grant is offered biennially to applicants who intend to undertake research that will make use of the Dorothy Neal White Collection and / or the National Children’s Collection, and fits other applicant criteria listed on the website.

Next Event

Coming soon

This National Children’s Collection book is currently featuring on the new book display in the Reading Room:

By Jeff Newman & Larry Day
Published Simon & Schuster Books, 2018

It is a sweet book which only features illustrations. It tells an emotional story of a little girl who finds a dog. The illustrations contain so many little details which provide more context


Your comments or questions about the Society, the Collection, and this website are welcome
Enquiries about membership of the Friends may be directed to the Secretary, Friends of the Dorothy Neal White Collection
P0 Box 12-499, Thorndon, Wellington 6144.
Membership form

For research enquiries relating to the collection use the webform

Telephone: 64-4-4704488.
Facsimile:  64-4-474 3035


New Zealand law allows non-profit organisations to apply for charitable status. This gives advantages over exemptions from some tax returns and allows members to claim tax exempt status for donations.

Our registration number is CC51738

Facebook By Weblizar Powered By Weblizar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *